Log In | Contact Us | View Cart (0 items)
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

Du Page Heritage Gallery (1977-) | Archival Collections at Wheaton College

Name: Du Page Heritage Gallery (1977-)

Historical Note:

The DuPage Heritage Gallery and the Red Grange Archives were established in 1977 by the not-for-profit corporation All America 77, Inc. and opened in 1980 with a dedication by Illinois governor James Thompson. The Gallery recognizes individuals who have played a role in shaping our country’s development and whose roots can be traced to DuPage County. It was created to serve as an educational tool for members of a community that has contributed to the success of several such remarkable persons. Any resident is invited to become a member. At its opening, the Gallery boasted five exhibits. These first honorees included Harold “Red” Grange, Billy Graham, Col. Robert McCormick, Elbert H. Gary and John W. Gates.

Over the next decade, the Gallery grew to include a number of other famous personages. Everett Mitchell was inducted in 1981, Kenneth Taylor in 1983, Grote Reber in 1985, Sherrill Milnes in 1988, Edwin Hubble and Margaret Landon in 1990, and Joy Morton in 1991. Exhibits have been created to recognize the achievements of each of these notables. Additional nominees approved by the Board of Directors in more recent years have not yet been formally inducted.

The exhibits of the DuPage Heritage Gallery is housed in the DuPage County Center at 421 County Farm Road in Wheaton.

Note Author: Wheaton College Archives & Special Collections staff

Page Generated in: 0.084 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 5.87MB of memory. (Peak of 6.01MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign