Log In | Contact Us | View Cart (0 items)
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

St. Anne's house (1941-1957) | Archival Collections at Wheaton College

Name: St. Anne's house (1941-1957)


Historical Note: St. Anne’s was opened in 1943 after the original church was destroyed by bomb damage during World War II. The new goals of the House were, in the words of its constitution: “To explore and expound Christian belief in the context of contemporary culture, in order to assist the educational work of the Church.” Its mission was executed through lectures, discussion, drama, group studies, and community activities. Dorothy L. Sayers served on the St. Anne’s House Advisory Council both as a member and as Chairman for six years, and was also a personal friend of Father Patrick McLaughlin: a member of the House clergy, warden, and director. St. Anne's officially closed in 1957.






Page Generated in: 0.08 seconds (using 107 queries).
Using 5.87MB of memory. (Peak of 6.01MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign